ePremier League Returns

The Premier League and Electronic Arts Inc announce the return of the ePremier League for the 2023/24 season. Entering its sixth season, the competition gives fans a shot at glory by winning the ePremier League title for their favourite club.

For the first time, players will compete in the tournament on the newly released EA SPORTS FC 24, with a £100,000 prize pool on offer and seats available for the winning club in the UEFA eChampions League and the FC Pro World Championships.

In an exciting evolution of the tournament, this season’s live ePremier League Finals will span across two action-packed weekends. The first of these will take place on 20 and 21 January, with the four leading clubs booking their spots in the Grand Final.

The remaining teams will have a second chance to join them by playing again on Saturday 23 March, ahead of the Grand Final the next day.

The tournament commences with online qualification in November, with dates varying per club. The format of this season’s Finals will see clubs working collaboratively again, with one player competing per console in a series of 1 vs. 1 matches against pairings from other clubs. Players can sign up now at https://e.premierleague.com/.

Premier League Chief Commercial Officer, Will Brass, said: “As the ePremier League enters its sixth season, we are excited to once again provide fans with the opportunity to represent their favourite Premier League club in an elite esports tournament.

“We are introducing some new developments for the first tournament played on the new EA SPORTS FC 24 video game. This includes holding live finals over two full weekends, again made available to fans around the world on Premier League digital platforms and through our broadcast partners.

“Over five seasons of thrilling ePremier League action we have seen some incredible drama, with a different Champion crowned each season and new gamers continuing to make a name for themselves on a global stage. We look forward to seeing what the 2023/24 tournament has in store.”

Leeds United’s Olle ‘Ollelito’ Arbin and Tom Stokes were crowned 2022/23 ePremier League champions. They faced tough opponents in the knockout rounds. After winning in the Quarter-Finals and Semi-Finals, the Final against Tottenham Hotspur saw Ollelito win 3-0 in the first leg, and Stokes drew 1-1, making them the champions.

Tom Stokes said: “Winning the 2023/24 ePremier League and becoming champion alongside Olle was a dream come true. Our teamwork was exceptional, we brought out the best in each other throughout the tournament and I can’t wait for the upcoming 2023/24 competition. I’m aiming for back-to-back wins to be the first player to retain the trophy!”

Sam Turkbas, Senior Director & Commissioner, Football Esports, EA added:  “We are ecstatic to introduce the ePremier League to EA SPORTS FC Pro, our elite platform designed for the highest level of esports competition. This isn’t just another tournament; it’s a gateway for players at all skill levels, allowing them to evolve from casual at-home play to donning their club’s colours in the ePremier League and other prestigious events. EA SPORTS is committed to capturing the essence of football and using esports as a catalyst to unite fans with the sport they love.”

“This tournament stands out because it offers players of all skill levels the unique opportunity to transition from their couches to the spotlight, becoming virtual ambassadors for their favourite teams and, who knows, potentially hoisting a trophy in the name of their cherished clubs!”

Some of the biggest names in EA SPORTS FC esports have played in the ePremier League in the past, with the likes of Donovan ‘Tekkz’ Hunt and Tom Leese set to compete once more.

After making a high-profile switch to Manchester City this month, inaugural ePremier League Champion Tekkz, said: “This is one of my favourite competitions in the esports calendar and I’m buzzing to represent Manchester City this season. To join the club on the back of their Treble-winning season on the pitch is a huge honour and I’m determined to win the club their second ePL title. I know this won’t be easy, the level of competition is extremely high, but I am ready to take on the challenge!”

ePremier League 2023/24 Format:

The competition is open to UK residents aged 16 and over. After registering, players compete in a series of online qualification tournaments, with only the best advancing to the Club Playoffs. From there, each of the 20 Premier League clubs will narrow down the competitors and take forward two players, one per console, to represent them across the two Finals weekends on 20 & 21 January and 23 & 24 March.

For more information on the qualification rules and information on how to register, visit https://e.premierleague.com/. The promoter and operator of the ePremier League 2023/24 competition is The Football Association Premier League Limited.


ePremier League 2023/24 Key Dates and Information:


Online Qualification Tournaments:                          


Qualifier 1                                                           2/3 November 2023.

Qualifier 2                                                           7/8 November 2023.

Qualifier 3                                                           16/17 November 2023.

Online Qualifier Playoff                  21/22 November 2023.

Club Playoffs: December 2023 (precise dates to be confirmed by each club).

Finals Group Stages: 20 and 21 January 2024.

Finals: 23 & 24 March 2024.

Prize pool breakdown (split equally between club representatives):

1 £30,000
2 £15,000
3-4 £7,500
5-8 £5,000
9-16 £2,500
TOTAL £100,000

About the Premier League

The Premier League produces some of the most competitive and compelling football in the world. The League and its clubs use the power and popularity of the competition to inspire fans, communities, and partners in the UK and across the world. The Premier League brings people together from all backgrounds. It is a competition for everyone, everywhere, and is available to watch in 880 million homes in 190 countries.

About ePremier League

The ePremier League was introduced in 2018, with EA SPORTS football esports players throughout the UK representing Premier League clubs. The inaugural ePremier League champion was Donovan ‘Tekkz’ Hunt who lifted the trophy on behalf of Liverpool Football Club. The 2019/20 Finals were postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic and were completed online, with Watford’s Thomas ‘Hashtag Tom’ Leese the champion. The 2020/21 champion was Manchester City’s Shaun ‘Shellzz’ Springette. Norwich City were crowned the 2021/22 ePremier Champions, represented by Damien ‘Damie’ Augustyniak & Jack ‘GoalPoacher_’ Wignall. The current holders are Leeds United’s Olle ‘Ollelito’ Arbin and Tom Stokes, who were crowned the 2022/23 ePremier League champions.


Written By
More from Alt Sport
Vodafone is revealed as Lead Partner of the British & Irish Lions...
Read More
0 replies on “ePremier League Returns”