Verge Meets – Throwback Interviews: Eoin Morgan #cwc19

With it being just under a year to go until the greatest celebration of cricket, the ICC Cricket World Cup, gets underway when hosts England take on South Africa at The Oval in London.

The format for the 2019 edition, the same used in Australia and New Zealand in 1992, sees the ten best teams in the world go head to head in a round robin format, resulting in a true world champion.

Building on the overwhelming success of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013 and 2017 – as well as last year’s ICC Women’s World Cup – it is anticipated that every one of the 48 matches will attract diverse crowds creating a unique atmosphere where every team has home support.

Interest in tickets has reached a new peak in the Cricket Family Ballot and Steve Elworthy, the CWC Managing Director, said: “England and Wales have a rich history of staging great cricket and global events with phenomenal public support. We know the ICC Cricket World Cup will be no different and fans will turn out in record numbers to support the event.

‘‘With the Cricket Family Ballot closing at 8pm on 1 June – there are just two days left to register – and the response so far has been outstanding. We thank all those, from around the world who support this great game on a regular basis and it is fitting they had priority access to tickets.

“But everyone will get a chance as the Public Ballot will open on 1 August 2018 and then in September the remaining tickets will go on open sale. Our initial campaign has been an enormous success and we can be proud of the progress so far.

“Our aim is to deliver an outstanding tournament for the players, the match officials and the fans. In hosting the CWC we have an opportunity that will leave a lasting impression that will inspire more people to play or get involved in cricket not only in England and Wales but across the world.”

The ICC Cricket World Cup will culminate with the fifth final at the iconic Lord’s Cricket Ground on 14 July and Lord’s will be one of 11 venues – joining Cardiff Wales Stadium, Bristol County Ground, County Ground Taunton, Edgbaston, Hampshire Bowl, Headingley, Old Trafford, The Oval, The Riverside Durham and Trent Bridge as host venues.