The most iconic ‘Pichichi’ winners in recent history

Many iconic players have won LaLiga’s top scorer award – often known as the ‘Pichichi’ – during their careers. In recent years, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo consistently won it while battling it out for Barcelona and Real Madrid, with Messi boasting six to his name and Ronaldo three. But many of the world game’s most iconic players have also taken home the award… here are just a few of the best in recent years.

Lionel Messi

What more can you say about Messi? The legendary Argentinian already has six top scorer awards to his name, including the last three. His first came in 2009/10, starting a run of three in four seasons which included a historic fifty-goal haul in 2011/12 and a constant striking duel with Cristiano Ronaldo season after season. Messi has been such a dominant goalscoring force that only one player beyond Cristiano has beaten him to the top scorer gong in the past decade: his Barcelona teammate and close friend Luis Suarez, who scored an incredible 40 goals in 2015/16.

Cristiano Ronaldo

When Cristiano left Real Madrid in 2018, his LaLiga goalscoring record stood at an unbelievable 311 goals in just 292 appearances. Limited to just three Pichichi awards but never dropping below 25 goals per season in Spain’s top flight, there have been few goalscorers quite as iconic as Cristiano.


During his decade and a half as the spearhead of Real Madrid’s attack, Raúl scored goal after goal for Los Blancos. The Spaniard won LaLiga six times, and finished as the league’s top scorer on two occasions, in 1998/99 with 25 goals and then again in 2000/01 with 24 goals.

Ronaldo Nazário

Like Raúl, Ronaldo Nazário also won the Pichichi twice in his career, but he did so at two different clubs. In 1996/97 he won it with Barcelona by scoring 34 times that campaign, before he claimed the honour again in 2003/04 with 25 goals, this time in the white of Real Madrid after crossing the El Clasico divide. That was Ronaldo’s most prolific campaign in the Spanish capital.

Samuel Eto’o

When Samuel Eto’o joined Barcelona from RCD Mallorca in the summer of 2004, he hit the ground running by scoring 24 goals in that first season and just missing out on the Pichichi, which went to Diego Forlán. The following year, however, Eto’o upped his game even further and this time netted 26 times to ensure the award was finally his. His goals helped Barcelona win the LaLiga title in each of those campaigns.

Ruud van Nistelrooy

When Ruud van Nistelrooy arrived at Real Madrid from Manchester United in 2006, he touched down in the Spanish capital having previously won the Premier League’s top scorer award. Then, the Dutch striker set his sights on the Spanish equivalent and he did so with an impressive 25 goals in his debut season as Real Madrid won ‘The League of the Comebacks.’


Diego Forlán

Diego Forlán is a two-time Pichichi winner, winning it once with Villarreal and then again with Atlético de Madrid. In his first season in LaLiga, the Uruguyan fired in 25 goals for Villarreal in 2004/05 to pip Eto’o to the honour, netting five goals across the final two matchdays to clinch a memorable goalscoring race. After switching yellow for red and white, Forlan won it again in 2008/09, this time with 32 goals. That made him the first player to win the award with over 30 goals since Ronaldo in 1996/97.


Every Pichichi winner of the 21st century

Season             Winner                         Club                                         Goals

2000/01           Raúl                             Real Madrid                              24

2001/02           Diego Tristán                Deportivo La Coruña                 21

2002/03           Roy Makaay                  Deportivo La Coruña                 29

2003/04           Ronaldo                        Real Madrid                              25

2004/05           Diego Forlán                 Villarreal                                   25

2005/06           Samuel Eto’o                Barcelona                                 26

2006/07           Ruud van Nistelrooy      Real Madrid                              25

2007/08           Daniel Güiza                 RCD Mallorca                            27

2008/09           Diego Forlán                 Atlético Madrid                         32

2009/10           Lionel Messi                  Barcelona                                 34

2010/11           Cristiano Ronaldo          Real Madrid                              41

2011/12           Lionel Messi                  Barcelona                                 50

2012/13           Lionel Messi                  Barcelona                                 46

2013/14           Cristiano Ronaldo          Real Madrid                              31

2014/15           Cristiano Ronaldo          Real Madrid                              48

2015/16           Luis Suárez                   Barcelona                                 40

2016/17           Lionel Messi                  Barcelona                                 37

2017/18           Lionel Messi                  Barcelona                                 34

2018/19           Lionel Messi                  Barcelona                                 36

Written By
More from Alt Sport
Alternative Sport Meets: Matthias Dandois
Ahead of the FISE World Series 2021, eight-time BMX world champion, Matthias...
Read More
0 replies on “The most iconic ‘Pichichi’ winners in recent history”