MTV Brand New 2016 official shortlist announced

MTV UK, in association with Emporio Armani Diamonds, today announced the shortlist for MTV Brand New 2016. The Top Ten will be celebrated at an exclusive launch party, fittingly hosted by one of the UK’s hottest female acts and the face of Emporio Armani Diamonds; Ella Eyre, at Tape London on December 1st.

Selected by MTV officials, key music influencers and industry representatives, the shortlist includes some of the most exciting new UK music talent for 2016.

From December 1st, the acts will go head to head in a public vote, battling out the toughest of competition until the all-conquering winner is revealed in February 2016.

Fans can vote for their favourite artist on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook mentions using #MTVBrandNew followed by the artist name and track progress live via the leader board at from December 1.

The Top Ten will join last year’s winners, Krept & Konan, and host Ella Eyre at a VIP launch event at Tape London with DJ sets by two of this year’s nominees, SG Lewis and Sigala.

MTV Brand New 2016 shortlist, presented by Emporio Armani Diamonds:

Anne-Marie (@AnneMarieIAm)
Blossoms (@BlossomsBand)
Bonkaz (@Bonkaz)
Jack Garratt (@jackgarrat)
Nimmo (@nimmonimmo)
Ratboy (@RATBOY)
Rationale (@iamrationale)
Sigala (@SigalaMusic)
SG Lewis (@SGLewis_)

After two months of battling it out to find the winner, MTV Brand New 2016 with Emporio Armani Diamonds, will host two showcase gigs early next year before the winner is announced.

Anna Karatziva, Head of Talent and Music, MTV UK, commented, “MTV Brand New presented by Emporio Armani Diamonds is one of the most important campaigns of the year to us – it’s our chance to champion the freshest UK talent that we have carefully selected for the year ahead. As always, the shortlist reflects some of the most important acts emerging right now and it looks like the competition is going to be closer than ever!”

In previous years, the MTV Brand New shortlist has revealed the biggest breakthrough acts of 2014 and 2015, such as James Bay, Years and Years, The Vamps, Krept & Konan, George Ezra, Sam Smith and Ella Eyre.

More from Tasha Demi
Cashtastic Returns With New Track, ‘From Long Time’
The young MC releases new music whilst recording for a new mixtape,...
Read More
0 replies on “MTV Brand New 2016 official shortlist announced”