King of the Ballroom: JJ Chalmers will win Strictly 2020… according to history

Bet O’Clock has looked at the characteristics of every winner in the show’s  17 years and has revealed that 33-year old JJ Chalmers will take home the 2020 Glitterball despite the bookies placing him at 28/1 to win! 

As series 18 of Strictly Come Dancing waltzes back onto our screens, research from shows that historically, TV presenters have performed best. With six winners from a possible 17, including Stacey Dooley, Ore Oduba and Natasha Kaplinsky. Actors were the second top performers with 5 winners in the last 17 series. 

 A spokesperson for Bet O’Clock commented: “Historical research has shown that profession and age really can influence performance, so television presenters and actors are the clear front runners when it comes to competing for this year’s Strictly Come Dancing crown.

 When placing a bet on this year’s contestants, the historical data is well worth considering, despite the bookmaker’s predictions this year. Actress Masie Smith is the favourite at 7/4 but using historical data might shape people’s predictions.”  

Strictly is no laughing matter, comedians feature alongside radio presenters and film stars as the careers to have never claimed a Strictly crown. History is also kinder to male contestants – with men taking 10 of the last 17 Strictly crowns (a 59% win-rate)! Research from all 17 years of the show reveals the typical winner is a 27-year-old male TV presenter which makes Chalmers most likely to dazzle the judges this year. The former Royal Marine, turned TV presenter matches the winning profession and isn’t far off the average champion’s age.

TV presenter and singer, HRVY, (5/2) also closely fits the mould of an average Strictly winner thanks to his gender and profession. However no one younger than 23 has ever won the show so his young age may let him down. 

The 12 celebrity dancers taking part in this year’s series, starting on Saturday 24th October, are: Jamie Laing, HRVY, Jacqui Smith, Maisie Smith, JJ Chalmers, Bill Bailey, Nicola Adams, Clara Amfo, Ranvir Singh, Max George, Jason Bell and Caroline Quentin. 

Written By
More from Poppy Taylor
Tesco has unveiled a new selection of Finest Indian meals and sauces...
Read More
0 replies on “King of the Ballroom: JJ Chalmers will win Strictly 2020… according to history”