This month Heineken celebrated the 150th anniversary of the company’s first brewery in Amsterdam which is now known as the world-famous Heineken Experience.
As one of the most iconic brewery venues in the world, the celebration will include tours of the exhibition space decorated in the style of the Brewery 150 years ago.
Demelza van der Maas (Manager Foundation Heineken Collection) said:
Heineken and Amsterdam have been inextricably linked for the past 150 years. Like the city, our brewery area has changed over the years, but we are proud to be still in the heart of Amsterdam.
Dirk Lubbers (Managing Director Heineken Experience) said:
In the Heineken Experience, we tell the story of Heineken’s heritage to thousands of visitors from all over the world on a daily basis. We’re noticing that younger generations are increasingly interested in history. And that’s great to see, because there is no future without past. We innovate constantly to tell these stories in an engaging way.
The Heineken brewery, which opened its doors on 17 May 1867, is one of the most impressive industrial heritage sites in the Netherlands. and now, the Heineken Experience is a self-guided interactive journey through the world of Heineken®, revealing the rich company history and its craftsmanship in beer brewing.
The Experience includes the former brewery, tasting bar, brewing simulator ride and stable walk, where visitors can see Heineken’s Shire horses, traditionally used for delivering beer across the city.
Historic Facts about the Heineken Experience:
- The company founder and first of four generations to brew Heineken, Gerard Adriaan Heineken (1841 -1893) built the brewery in 1867, on edge of Amsterdam surrounded by meadows, fields and rivers.
- The cornerstone of the brewery was laid on May 17, 1867 at 3pm by Gerard Adriaan Heineken’s younger sister, Anna Geertruida Cornelia Heineken.
- Over the last 150 years and alongside the modernization of the brewing process, the brewery area has expanded to grow with the demand for Heineken.
- In 1988, the brewery activities were moved from Amsterdam to a bigger site in Zoeterwoude, on the outskirts of the city.
- The unique brewery building design was produced by the famous Dutch engineer and architect Isaac Gosschalk. His plans were to produce a picturesque but robust brick building with stairs, turrets and other elements derived from medieval and seventeenth-century architecture.
- Third generation CEO Alfred “Freddy” Heineken made a bold decision to remove the ‘S’ from ‘Heinekens’ on the facade of the Brewery. He championed the famous laughing ‘e’ as the Heineken logo that global audience know and love today. To celebrate the legacy of the four generations of beer brewing Heinekens the ‘S’ will be reinstated for a week on this anniversary year.
- There are still some patrons working for the company today that have brewed beer in the iconic copper kettles in the heart of the former brewery.
- Gerard Heineken was a successful entrepreneur with strong community values. He helped set up traditional cafés, which are now an integral part of Dutch culture, he was also involved in the construction of the world famous cultural institution the Rijksmuseum and Vondelpark both of which are in walking distance of the brewery.
For more information on HEINEKEN visit their website: www.theHEINEKENcompany.com